Text to music

I assigned a note from the C Blues scale (C – Eb – F – Gb – G – Bb – C) to each letter in the alphabet. To make 3 intruments, I grouped the letters according to points in scrabble:

Instrument 1:
# 1 point: E, A, I, O, N, R, T, L, S, U

Instrument 2
# 2 points: D, G
# 3 points: B, C, M, P
# 4 points: F, H, V, W, Y

Instrument 3
# 5 points: K
# 8 points: J, X
# 10 points: Q, Z

I then picked a quote, in this case ‘Design is where science and art break even’ seemed appropriate, and put the song together in Garageband according to these scribbled notes

Created this in illustrator:

And used C4D to put them together:

Next step is to automate the process. It shouldn’t be beyond me to code it in processing, and that would allow me to make far longer songs. The song this test produced is too slow, and too boring, but I’ve already thought of some changes I could make. Next time I have a day to spare, I’ll see where I can take this.

This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

